Driver Safety Program, Live Victim Impact Panel
Family Parenting Program
The Judicial Services Programs, College of Lake County, Illinois offer court-approved courses of instruction for those individuals ordered or recommended to attend a course in the Driver Safety Program, Live Victim Impact Panel or Family Parenting Program.
The Community Development Department recently changed their name to Judicial Services Programs. They administer the Defensive Driving Program (aka. Driver Safety Program), Family Parenting, Live Victim Impact, 19th Judicial Family Violence Coordinating Council and the Volunteer Probation Support Programs.
General Program Information
The Driver Safety Program and Family Parenting Programs of the College of Lake County are located at 111 N. Genesee St., Waukegan, IL 60085. Office hours are from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday. The office is closed for all federal holidays. The phone number for information and registration is (847) 543-2185. Phone registrations for all programs can be taken with a credit card number. Registrations with a credit card number can be faxed to (847) 543-2188. Please make sure all information, including home or day time phone number, on the registration form is complete. Please visit the College of Lake County, Judicial Services Program's website for more information.
Driver Safety Program
The purpose of the Driver Safety Program (DSP) is to offer an educational experience for individuals who have been charged with minor traffic violations within the jurisdictional boundaries of the Circuit Court of the Nineteenth Judicial Circuit, Lake County, Illinois. The DSP will improve traffic skills, decrease the possibility of future traffic violations and reduce the possibility of serious or fatal collisions. The DSP will serve as a sentencing alternative for individuals who plead guilty or who are adjudicated guilty.
The Defensive Driving Course (4-hour) is available online through the College of Lake County Safety Service, to those individuals who have pre-registered and received an Access Code (or Serial Number) and those who have not registered yet, Click on the New Student button to register and create your own Login ID and Password. Only use the Access Code to register the first time.
To register for the online Internet version of the course, hand write or type "INTERNET" on your Application for Court Supervision (and Driver Safety School) above the Class Location Areas section of the form, mail the completed form, the blue copy of your ticket and fines (No cash or personal checks) to the "Clerk of the Circuit Court " at least 10 days prior to the "court appearance" date. Your class assignment will be mailed to you with the User Name and Password.
For some courses a Flash player/plug-in is required. This will allow you to play the multimedia content in the courseware.
Get Adobe Flash Player
The Driver Safety Program includes the following classroom/instructor-led courses:
This National Safety Council© four-hour program presents defensive driving techniques in an interactive format. The course content emphasizes the dangers of speed, illustrates the DDC Collision Prevention Formula, proper following distance, and explains the effects of alcohol and drugs. DDC-4 includes the most recent research on preventing deaths and injuries, and uses techniques that reinforce every point. New safe-driving issues addressed include airbags, anti-lock brakes, safety belt and child restraints. Complex concepts are made interesting and easy to understand.
This course is designed for the first time offenders and or those with minor traffic violations. Corporate and government agencies may use this course to improve driving habits of employees and increase productivity. Concerned citizens who want to be more effective defensive drivers may also attend.
Class locations include: College of Lake County in Grayslake, CLC Lakeshore Campus in Waukegan, Highland Park, Wauconda and Lake Barrington. Classes are held Monday through Saturday at these locations. Time availabilities are 8:00 am to 12:00 pm, 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm and 6:00 pm to 10:00 pm (6:00 pm time not available on Saturdays). Course fee is $50.00 per person.
This National Safety Council© eight-hour course covers defensive techniques, driver attitude, the effects of alcohol/drugs and driving, the DDC Collision Prevention Formula, head-on collisions, collision avoidance techniques, following distance, the conditions of driving and more. More emphasis is placed on rules of road and driver skills analysis. Includes a pretest and post-test so participants can see how much they have learned.
This course is designed for offenders who have already completed DDC-4, offenders with multiple violations, and/or offenders with major traffic violations. Corporate, government agencies and concerned citizens are also welcome to attend.
Class locations include: College of Lake County in Grayslake. Class times are Saturday from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm or Tuesday and Wednesday evening (consecutive days) from 6:00 to 10:00 pm each evening. Course fee is $60.00 per person.
This National Safety Council© eight-hour course is designed to work exclusively on changing negligent behavior and the attitude of the person behind the wheel. It challenges drivers to accept responsibility for their own actions. The program approaches behavior changes by applying principles from Reality Therapy and Choice Theory. Participants also review defensive driving principles and local driving regulations. The course then suggests how each participant can develop their own action plan to practice proper driving behavior.
This course is designed for offenders with obvious attitude problems, offenders with multiple offenses, offenders who have completed other driver programs, and offenders that know the laws, but chose not to follow them.
Class locations include: College of Lake County in Grayslake from 8:00 and to 5:00 pm on Saturdays and Tuesday and Wednesday (consecutive evenings) from 6:00 to 10:00 pm. Course fee is $85.00 per person.
This National Safety Council© four-hour course is designed to help reduce the number of injuries and collisions incurred by drivers most at risk, the 16-24 year old age group. Built on interactive learning activities, instructors guide participants to form their own conclusions about the consequences of risky driving behavior. It challenges them to take responsibility for their behavior in driving situations and to adopt safer driving practices. Includes a review of statistics and discussion as to why this age group is at risk, review of defensive driving principles, techniques to maintain control and manage peer pressure and a review of state and local driving regulations.
This course is designed for drivers in the 16-24 year old age group, with first time or minor traffic violations. Course fee is $40.00 per person.
This four-hour course addresses the attitudes and behaviors of those offenders with drug and substance abuse violations. This course will address issues of facts and myths of marijuana and other drugs, reasons teenagers and young adults want to experiment with drugs, physiological and psychological effects of marijuana and other drugs of choice, including inhalants. Participants will use interactive exercises and discussion to explore how the behaviors they choose may keep them from getting what they want from life. Facilitators will use Reality Therapy and Choice Theory principles to help participants determine the action plan needed to adopt the behaviors necessary to change.
This course is designed for juvenile offenders with marijuana and other minor drug and alcohol related offenses. The class is held at the College of Lake County. Course fee is $40.00 per person.
The purpose of the Family Parenting Program (FPP) is to offer an educational experience to parents, with minor children, who have filed for dissolution of marriage, and to parents, with minor children, who are parties to post-judgment custody or visitation petitions, within the jurisdictional boundaries of the Circuit Court of the Nineteenth Judicial Circuit, Lake County.
The FPP offers the opportunity to learn about and discuss the effect that divorce has on minor children. The learning experience will also be extended to any citizen who wishes to register for the course.
Program Contact Information
The Family Parenting Program of the College of Lake County is located at 111 N. Genesee St., Waukegan, IL 60085. Office hours are from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday. The office is closed for all federal holidays. The phone number for information and registration is (847) 543-2185. Phone registrations for all programs can be taken with a credit card number. Registrations with a credit card number can be faxed to (847) 623-9574. Please make sure all information, including home or day time phone number, on the registration form is complete.
I. FAMILY PARENTING COURSE (FPC)
This Children First Foundation© four-hour course is designed to offer and educational experience to parents, with minor children, who have filed for dissolution of marriage, and to parents, with minor children, who are parties to post-judgment custody or visitation petitions. This gives them the opportunity to learn about and discuss the effect that divorce has on minor children. Through the use of interactive discussion, led by trained facilitators, parents are able to look at how their behavior can affect their children and how they can best help their children in this time of transition. This learning experience will also be extended to any citizen who wishes to register for the course. The course fee can be waived if the parties in question show the inability to pay for the parenting course.
This course is designed for parents with minor children in dissolution of marriage and/or custody or visitation petitions. Other interested family members or citizens may also attend.
Class locations include: College of Lake County on Saturday mornings, Monday and Thursday evenings, Course fee is $50.00 per person.
Other Judicial Services Programs include:
Live Victim Impact Panel
The College of Lake County in conjunction with the 19th Judicial Circuit and the Alliance Against Intoxicated Motorists (AAIM), is now offering the Live Victim Impact Panel at the College's Grayslake campus. The panel's presentation is targeted towards individuals charged with DUI offenses as referred by the 19th Judicial Circuit Court, as well as for the public at large.
This presentation is offered once a month at the College of Lake County in Grayslake. Pre-registration is necessary. Cost of the program is $40.00. For further information and registration, please call (847) 543-2185.
The 19th Judicial Family Violence Coordinating Council, convened and chaired by the Chief Judge, is a multi-disciplinary, multi-system body of decision makers for public, not for profit and the private sector. It includes representation from judicial, prosecutors, law enforcement, public defense, health, clergy, social service and the educational systems. The purpose of the Council is to provide a forum for the community to develop systems, programs, procedures, protocols and policies that will create appropriate family violence intervention, education, and prevention through cooperation and collaboration. For further information, please call 847-543-2315.
The College recruits, trains and assigns volunteers to work with juveniles and adults during their probation period. The program provides support, mentoring and supervision of these individuals.